Scientific Advisory Board

The Board advises the Trust regarding its scientific direction and focus. It currently has four members:

Professor Eamonn Maher MD FRCP FMedSci, Professor of Medical Genetics and Genomic Medicine at  the University of Cambridge, UK. Professor Maher’s work focuses on human genetic disorders. Current research interests include inherited and non-inherited kidney cancers, such as VHL and BHD syndrome.

Dr Laura Schmidt PhD, Principal Scientist at the National Cancer Institute, NIH, USA. Dr Schmidt’s research focuses on identifiying new genes involved in familial renal cancer. Dr Schmidt was part of the teams that cloned the VHL tumor suppressor gene, and that identified mutations in Folliculin, the gene mutated in BHD syndrome.

Dr Andrew Tee PhD, Research Lecturer at the Institute of Medical Genetics of Cardiff University School of Medicine, UK and AICR fellow. Dr Tee leads a research group investigating the cellular mechanisms underlying tuberous sclerosis complex and BHD syndrome, particularly the activity of a key protein called mammalian target of rapamycin (mTOR).

Professor Arnim Pause PhD, Associate Professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Canada Research Chair in Molecular Oncology at McGill University, Canada. Professor Pause’s research interests include the functional characterization of the Folliculin protein in C.elegans and mouse models.

Members of the Scientific Advisory Board act as scientific research advisors with no connections to finances that relate to the Myrovlytis Trust or grants awarded by the Myrovlytis Trust.

Report of the Board’s third meeting, held on 16th of November 2009, here.

Report of the Board’s second meeting, held on 3rd of September 2008, here.

Report of the Board’s first meeting, held on 8th of May 2008, here.